Resilient Cities 2015

Program Committee

The Program Committee for the Resilient Cities congress is composed of experts from partner organizations centrally involved in the theme of climate change adaptation and local governments from various continents. 

Program Committee members advise on Congress themes and proposed presentations, and have an key role in the review process of the Call for Contributions. 

Program Committee members

  • Andreas Rechkemmer, Professor, American Humane Endowed Chair, University of Denver
  • Anthony Socci, Senior Advisor on Climate and Energy, US Environmental Protection Agency
  • Carmen Vogt, Senior Policy Advisor for Urban Development and Cities and Climate Change, Project Manager „Sustainable Development of Metropolitan Regions“, Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH
  • Carrie Mitchell, Assistant Professor, School of Planning, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Katharina Schneider-Roos, Deputy Executive Director, Global Infrastructure Basel 
  • David Dodman, Senior Researcher, International Institute for Environment and Development
  • Debra Roberts, Deputy Head: Environmental Planning & Climate Protection, eThekwini Municipality, South Africa
  • Jeb Brugmann, Founding Partner, The Next Practice; Founder of ICLEI and member of the ICLEI Advisory Board
  • Jerry Velasquez, Chief, Advocacy and Outreach, United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR)
  • Lykke Leonardsen, Head of Strategy, City of Copenhagen, Denmark
  • Milica Bajic Brkovic, President, The International Society of City and Regional Planners (ISOCARP)
  • Stephen Hammer, Lead Urban Specialist, World Bank, Washington D.C., USA
  • Violeta Somera Seva, Senior Advisor, Makati City, Philippines
  • Nico Tillie, Vice-President World Council on City Data, Toronto, Canada;  Researcher / Lecturer, Delft University of Technology; Landscape Architect, City of Rotterdam, the Netherlands 
  • Mark Boysen, Sustainability Coordinator and Corporate Energy Manager, District of Saanich, Canada
  • Raf Tuts, Coordinator, Urban Planning and Design Branch, UN-Habitat
  • Jason Hartke, President of National Policy, US Green Building Council (USGBC) 
  • Jiahua Pan, Director, Institute for Urban & Environmental Studies, China
  • Joern Birkmann, Director, Institute for Spatial Planning and Regional Development, University of Stuttgart